Charter School Winners of the 2011 Washington Post Awards for Outstanding Leader and Teacher Performance Announced

Friday, May 6, 2011

For Immediate Release: 
Contact: Shenneth Dove-Morse 202-328-5543

Washington, D.C. —The principal of Hope Community Public Charter School’s Tolson Campus, Dr. Chloe Marshall and SEED Public Charter School Middle School English teacher, Christina Williams are the 2011 winners of the Washington Post’s Distinguished Educational Leadership Award and the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award in the charter school category.  This award recognizes school leaders and teachers who exemplify excellence in their profession.  

Dr. Marshall was elated at winning the award.  “It’s a real honor to be selected. We all want to be celebrated,” she said.  The award ceremony for the Distinguished Education Leader Award took place on April 28th at the Washington Post.  At the ceremony, Dr. Marshall stated that it was good to meet other principals who are doing great work.

“At the end of the day, it’s not about me, it’s about my students and families,” Dr. Marshall said.   She views her career as an educational leader as a calling.  She has served as principal of a middle school in Memphis, TN before coming to Hope Community’s Tolson Campus.

Ms. Williams described winning the Agnes Mayer Outstanding Teacher Award as a humbling experience.  “Every classroom in America should be a place where kids feel safe and stretched academically. Each day is an opportunity to help students improve academically,” Williams said.

Ms. Williams currently teaches 7th and 8th grade boys in reading and writing at SEED and is a Teach for America alumna. Ms. Williams previously taught in District of Columbia Public Schools.  

The Washington Post Company Educational Foundation calls for nominations from the charter school community and other school jurisdictions on an annual basis.  The Distinguished Educational Leadership Award and the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award is given to principals and teachers in 20 school systems in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area.  Each winner will each receive a stipend award and receive recognition at a ceremony at the Washington Post.

# # #